lost phone ! cant help but feel sorry for myself !!

In a family function in Barelly , UttarPradesh , 3 days ago , I lost my beloved phone  samsung galaxy grand quattro ( Model : GT 18552 ) .

This was a phone I truly loved and felt was much smarter than me . I kept it by my bedside as I sleep and never once dropped it hard on floor or anywhere careful not to scratch the surface even one bit . Infact I bought some fancy covers for it as well , for it remain as shiny and pear;y white it was .

As the realization of actually having lost in sunk , deep in my heart I felt a throbbing ache  . I knew this feeling . I experienced it once earlier when back in my college 3rd year someone skillfully stole my phone from my bag while I happily sat  inside the examination hall to complete my university exam . I cried buckets that day . But not this day . Today I was determined to catch the thief . After all what is all this technology for .

I took a deep breath and began

Step 1 : Android device manager  :

no use since the thief had already turned off my mobile , hence no GPRS or 3G or data packet to send the location updates or receive the lock device notification

android device manger

android device manger

 

Step 2 : Airtel Customer care :

Now this was really a pain , endless IVR and DTMF inputs , like press 1 to listen in english press 2 to listen in hindi , press 3 to hear about airtel tv  , press 4 to know your account balance …. 

Its not only irritating but patient testing as well . Anyways after passing through the maze of numerous voice menus and pressing number buttons i made it to the call attendant who bluntly replied that nothing can be done except for a police complaint . 😦 So I just asked for blocking of SIM and inquired about duplicate sim retrieval , which i got 2 days later and activated after couple of hours with payment of 25 Rupees .

airtel account

airtel account

 

Step 3 : Use Samsung Find My mobile service

No good . I was pretty sure the thief had probably taken out the battery and SIM . Any seasoned mobile thief would know that mobile is untraceable once the sim and battery are out .

samsung locate my mobile

samsung locate my mobile

 

Step 4 : Track IMEI number on internet for missing phone

IMEI tracker

IMEI tracker

I also tried to register a account with the global lost mobile using IMEI number

IMEI global databse

IMEI global databse

So far no positive results . Hope is on never the less .

Step 5 : Make a police complaint

Looking back at everything else this was the only sensible thing I did

 

police report

police report

I continue the search till today …..

 

